Skip to content
SpecsCalc

RX 9070 XT power connectors: 2×8-pin, 3×8-pin or 12V-2x6?

· By Weerasak

Document-based guide · Methodology and limits

Quick answer

There is no single power-connector layout for every RX 9070 XT. AMD lists 2×8-pin for its product specification, while verified partner cards also use 3×8-pin or 12V-2x6. Match the full card model to the exact PSU and its approved cables before buying or connecting anything.

The connector depends on the exact card

“RX 9070 XT” identifies a GPU family, not one physical board. Board partners choose the PCB, cooler, clock targets and power delivery. That is why cards using the same GPU can require different plugs and different PSU capacity.

Manufacturer specifications checked October 13, 2026
Exact specification or modelCard inputBoard powerPSU guidanceCard dimensions
AMD Radeon RX 9070 XT product specification2 × 8-pin304W typical board power750W minimumNot stated on the product page
Sapphire PULSE, SKU 11348-03-20G2 × 8-pin304W typical board power750W minimum320 × 120.25 × 61.6 mm; 3 slot
ASUS TUF Gaming OC, TUF-RX9070XT-O16G-GAMING3 × 8-pinNot stated on the linked tech-spec page850W recommended330 × 140 × 62.5 mm; 3.125 slot
Sapphire NITRO+ OC, SKU 11348-01-20G12V-2x6 (H++)330W typical board power850W minimum330.8 × 128.5 × 65.68 mm; 3.2 slot

The wattage figures in the fourth column are manufacturer system-PSU recommendations. Typical board power describes the graphics card, not the entire PC. A PSU can have enough labelled wattage while lacking the compatible ports or cables for the purchased card.

AMD’s family page is useful for its published 304W, 750W and 2×8-pin baseline, but it does not replace the specification for a retail partner card. The Sapphire PULSE, ASUS TUF Gaming OC and Sapphire NITRO+ OC rows above refer only to those exact models.

Check capacity, connectors and cables separately

Begin with the full model number from the card or box. Then identify the complete PSU model and revision from its label. “850W modular PSU” is not enough information to establish cable compatibility.

What your current PSU information can establish
What you haveWhat it means
750W PSU and two compatible PCIe 8-pin plugsA potential match for the PULSE. Verify the exact PSU, the complete system load and the makers’ cable instructions.
750W PSU but only one usable PCIe connectionThe connector requirement is unresolved even though the wattage label meets the PULSE minimum.
850W PSU and three compatible 8-pin plugsA potential match for the ASUS TUF. Follow that PSU maker’s instructions for the cable arrangement.
850W PSU with an approved native 12V-2x6 cableA potential match for the NITRO+. Confirm the cable’s documented scope and install it as both makers instruct.
850W PSU without native 12V-2x6The NITRO+ includes a 3×8-pin adapter. Verify that the PSU has the compatible outputs and cables required to feed it.
Modular cables left from another PSUDo not use them unless the PSU manufacturer explicitly approves the exact cable for the exact replacement unit.

“Potential match” is deliberate. CPU power settings, other components, PSU condition, cable inventory and case clearance still matter. Use the RX 9070 XT PSU sizing guide for the family-level wattage arithmetic and the full-system PSU calculator for your own inputs.

Three card inputs do not create one universal cable rule

The number on a graphics-card specification is the number of card-side inputs. It does not by itself state how many independent cable runs must leave every possible PSU.

Seasonic recommends separate PCIe cable runs for high-power cards with two or three inputs. Corsair documents a different rule for its own compatible Type 4 and Type 5 pigtail cables: it permits one pigtail for a two-input card and one pigtail plus one individual cable for a three-input card. Corsair also says it cannot speak for other brands.

Those instructions are not interchangeable. Follow the exact PSU maker’s guidance and the card manual. The ASUS TUF specification verifies three 8-pin inputs, but the linked page does not specify a universal number of independent PSU-side cable runs.

The same caution applies to modular cable reuse. ASUS warns that modular pinouts can differ between brands and even models. Use the cables supplied with the PSU or a cable that its manufacturer explicitly lists for that exact unit; connector shape alone is not approval.

What the NITRO+ adapter changes

The Sapphire NITRO+ has one 12V-2x6 card input. Sapphire includes a 12V-2x6-to-3×8-pin adapter for a PSU without a native 12V-2x6 cable, so a native cable is not an absolute requirement for this named model.

If you use the included adapter, verify the required PSU-side cables and follow Sapphire’s installation instructions. Do not substitute an adapter whose compatibility you cannot document. With either a native cable or the bundled adapter, insert and latch the card-side connector completely, then follow the cable maker’s routing and bend instructions. This guide does not assign one bend distance to every cable.

Connector type alone does not establish gaming performance, safety or reliability. The NITRO+ also differs in board power, clocks, cooler and firmware, so any performance claim needs model-specific testing.

A five-step check before power-on

  1. Record both full model numbers. Photograph the GPU and PSU labels if the boxes are gone.
  2. Open both manufacturer documents. Confirm card input, system-PSU guidance and the approved cable or supplied adapter.
  3. Inspect the actual cable set. Match cable labels and part numbers to the PSU; do not identify a modular cable by plug shape alone.
  4. Check case space. Card length, height, thickness and cable-routing room are separate fit checks. Use the SFF clearance checker as a shortlist aid, then confirm the case and card drawings.
  5. Install without forcing a connector. Disconnect AC and follow the component manuals. Resolve a missing cable or tight side panel before powering the system.

Common RX 9070 XT connector questions

Does every RX 9070 XT use two 8-pin connectors?

No. AMD’s product specification and the Sapphire PULSE list 2×8-pin, the ASUS TUF Gaming OC lists 3×8-pin, and the Sapphire NITRO+ lists 12V-2x6.

Is a 750W PSU enough?

It depends on the card and the complete system. AMD and Sapphire list 750W minimum for their 304W specifications above. ASUS recommends 850W for the TUF OC, while Sapphire lists 850W minimum for the 330W NITRO+. The supply must also provide an approved cable arrangement.

Can I daisy-chain the 8-pin inputs?

Check the exact PSU instructions. Seasonic and Corsair publish different guidance for their products, so the card’s connector count alone cannot answer the question for every cable.

Can I use an adapter with the NITRO+?

Sapphire includes a 3×8-pin-to-12V-2x6 adapter for this model. Use the supplied adapter as documented and verify the PSU-side cable requirements.

Can I reuse modular cables after replacing the PSU?

Only when the PSU manufacturer explicitly confirms the exact cable and replacement-unit pairing. Similar-looking PSU-side sockets can use different pinouts.

Does 12V-2x6 make the NITRO+ faster?

The connector alone does not establish performance. Compare measurements for the complete card models if performance affects your buying decision.

Sources and review scope

Specifications checked October 13, 2026. Connector, PSU and dimension figures below come from the linked manufacturer pages for the named models. Cable-run advice remains specific to the PSU maker and cable set. This document-based guide is not an electrical test, reliability ranking or GPU benchmark.